Senator Gonzalez Becomes Member of the Senate Leadership Team as New Majority Whip

February 12, 2021

SACRAMENTO – On February 10th, 2021 Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) made appointments to the Democratic Leadership team for the 2020-2021 session.

Senator Lena A. Gonzalez (D-Long Beach) was appointed as Majority Whip, one of seven Democratic leadership positions in the California Senate. The Democratic leadership team plays a significant role in guiding Senate members through the legislative process.

“I am honored that Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins appointed me to serve on the Senate leadership team. I sincerely look forward to working with my Senate colleagues in this new role to advance policies of equity and inclusion for the great people of California.”

Senator Lena A. Gonzalez was first elected to the State Senate to represent the 33rd District in a special election in June of 2019 and was subsequently re-elected in the November 3, 2020 general election for her first full 4-year term.

She was recently appointed as the new Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee, becoming the first Latina(o) to ever serve in this capacity and the only woman to serve in the last 20 years. She currently is a member of the Special Committee on Pandemic Emergency Response, Energy, Utilities and Communications, Environmental Quality, Judiciary and Health committees.